Nov 12 - 13 2016
Symphony of the Redwoods 2016 Fall Concert

Symphony of the Redwoods 2016 Fall Concert

Presented by Symphony of the Redwoods at Cotton Auditorium

Bay Area native and award-winning guitarist Paul Psarras will join the Symphony of the Redwoods for their 2016-2017 season opening concerts.

Performances will be on Saturday, November 12, at the new time of 7:30pm and Sunday, November 13, at 2pm at Cotton Auditorium in Fort Bragg.

Music Director Allan Pollack will lead a program consisting of Arturo Márquez’ Danzón No. 2, Astor Piazzola’s Libertango, Igor Stravinsky’s The Firebird, and Joaquín Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, with Psarras as the featured soloist.

Written in 1939, Concierto de Aranjuez was Rodrigo’s first composition for guitar and orchestra. “This piece is the most famous concerto in the world for almost any instrument,” said Psarras. “Once I heard a number of different interpretations, I knew I needed to play it.” After one entire year to practice, Psarras performed the piece for the first time during his final term at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

Born and raised south of San Francisco in San Mateo County, Psarras was heavily influenced by his Greek heritage. He is currently the rhythm guitarist and lead vocalist with Fotia, a Bay Area-based Greek band. He plays several traditional Greek instruments, and fills multiple roles within the group, including arranger, producer and performer. “Classical music and Greek music both affect each other, and make each style better,” Psarras explained. “Classical requires extreme attention to detail, while Greek is more natural and fluid. I like to transcend that naturalness into the classical world when I’m performing.”

For more information, please contact our executive director, Alex Pierangeli, at 707-946-0898 or Read more about our featured soloist, Paul Psarras, at

Marquez: Danzon No. 2
Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez, featuring Paul Psarras, guitar
Piazzola: Libertango
Stravinsky: The Firebird

Concert Sponsors: Charles & Olivia Hasty

Admission Info

All Symphony of the Redwoods concerts will be at Cotton Auditorium, 500 N. Harold Street, Fort Bragg. Tickets are available for $20 at Harvest Market and the Redwood Coast Senior Center in Fort Bragg, Out of This World in Mendocino, and at the door.

Also order online at the Symphony of the Redwoods website.

18 and under always free

Dates & Times

2016/11/12 - 2016/11/13

Location Info

Cotton Auditorium

500 North Harold Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437